Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1_2012FrankTurner02DD150112

 

 

 

 

 

If you’re familiar with the current folk rock movement, then you probably already know of Frank Turner. If not, here are a few key terms to sum up the experience:

  • Folk Rock
  • Punk
  • England
  • Acoustic Guitars
  • Plaid
  • Billy Bragg
  • Pianos
  • Sing-Alongs
  • Classical Liberal

I got introduced by this band through another musician, Billy Bragg [he’s a very similar artist, but with a stronger background in activism and 20 more years on top of Turner]. What hooked me on Turner wasn’t the style they shared, but the same energy and focus. I love Bragg, but a lot of his music revolves around England and it’s issues, especially in the 80’s and 90’s, all of which I am naive about. Turner was able to use the same motivation of activism but focused on romantic aspects more often and was easier to relate to.

For fans of: Murder By Death, Chuck Ragan, Gaslight Anthem, Wilco, The Clash, Andrew Jackson Jihad, Against Me!

Today, I present Photosynthesis. This is one of my favorite songs and one of his most powerful ones regarding growing up and getting old. Read about it here. My favorite part of the song is the opening verse:

Well, I guess I should confess
That I am starting to get old
All the latest music fads
All passed me by and left me cold

I can definitely relate to this. I’m turning 26 next week and I really think my prime age for new genres of music has passed. But I’m ok with that; I’ve got plenty of old records and plaid shirts to keep me company.

