Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This past week has been a pretty eventful week for me in the world of records.  I have a few more records coming in the mail too, but that doesn’t count! Here’s a summary of the haul.

 

1.|  ….Like Clockwork by Queens Of The Stone Age

Gorgeous cover and gatefold jacket. It’s the double LP edition and each LP comes with its own special jacket. It’s a solid album so far, plenty of noise, distortion, and darkness.

qotsaaa

To go along with with the awesomely dreadful album artwork, UK artist
boneface has also created a few animated videos to go with the album. My favorite song and video so far is “I Appear Missing”.

 

2.|  Sometimes the Blues Is Just a Passing Bird by The Tallest Man on Earth

The-Tallest-Man-On-Earth-Sometimes-The-BluesI had recently been introduced to solo artist Kristian Matsson who entertains under the name The Tallest Man On Earth. I don’t know much about this guy, but everything I’ve heard is excellent. All I can say is that he is the modern Swedish Bob Dylan.

Favorite track so far is “The Dreamer”.

 

3.|  Alkaline Trio/Hot Water Music Split

My favorite band is Alkaline Trio and I love Hot Water Music. It was only a matter of time before I finally picked up the vinyl version of this split (it’s been out since 2002). The record is a picture disc with artwork printed directly on both sides!

pictureds

These songs aren’t new to me but the signature track on this is the Trio cover of “Radio” by HWM.

 

 

