Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

3110300

I got my Heavens picture disc in the mail yesterday. I’ve been waiting awhile for this one because it shipped out of the U.K. The band was a one album side project of Alkaline Trio frontman Matt Skiba and F-Minus‘s bassist Joe Steinbrick. The album is definitely a departure from both artist’s comfort zone but some how feels at home. It feels like they set to put out an album reminiscent of Joy Division and themselves; with skeletons, voyeurism, blood, and synthesizers. Unfortunately, they only did this one album and an amazing cover of Love Will Tear Us Apart.

The record is a 7” single for the song, “Patent Pending”. The b-side is the same song but a remix by Lovett. I can’t find a sample of the remix anywhere so I guess you will just have to buy it to listen!

Epitaph Records was cool enough to do a video for this song too, which rarely happens for projects like this. 

