Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

amanda-palmer

So I think I made it somewhat clear on my last post that sometimes, I like music that’s a little strange. If I didn’t, let me clarify: sometimes, I like music that’s a little strange. But that’s ok. Strange is good. With that thought in mind, ladies and gentlemen, I present to you, Amanda Palmer.

o-AMANDA-PALMER-facebook

Maybe you’ve heard of her, maybe you haven’t. If you haven’t let me give you a quick breakdown: This lovable weirdo doesn’t shave her underarms, is/was/has been (I hear tell) married to delightful author Neil Gaiman (if you don’t know who he is… well, let’s talk, ok?), and has collaborated on such whimsical musical projects such as 8in8 with her hubby and OK Go’s singer Damian Kulash. Have I got your attention? Good.

So here’s what this chick sounds like, in my personal favorite of hers, and arguably one of the less weird stuff she’s done, Astronaut:

What do I like about? Everything. The piano, her voice, the lyrics. It’s different, yet relatable, and in my opinion, wonderful to listen to. And that song isn’t all that strange. This one, on the other hand, is laden with weird, and maybe it does Run in the Family:

I mean lets face it, she even looks insane in that video. But damn it, it’s a catchy song, and I like it. She’s got plenty more, some darker, some lighter, some slower, some faster. But I’ll leave you with one more, because I think it carries a cool message, and I’m all about songs that speak to you in one way or another. In My Mind:

But wait! There’s more! Since I mentioned 8in8 before, I figured I’d give you a taste of that too. The project was with the aforementioned individuals plus Ben Folds Five. The challenge? Write 8 songs in 8 hours, hence 8in8. You can read all about it here. Here’s one of my favorites from that mix, One Tiny Thing:

But you should also check out I’ll Be My Mirror too because it’s kind of hilarious and Amanda Palmer actually sings in it:

Finally, I also enjoy making playlists with fun names, because I am a giant dork and I own it. If you liked Amanda Palmer, and wonder what would “pair” nicely, I recommend other strong female vocalists like Florence + The Machine and Pink. I have a playlist with them, among others and call it Pink Palmer. Why? Aside from the obvious reasons, because Arnold Palmers are my favorite drink, only I make it with pink lemonade and/or raspberry iced tea and call them Pink Palmers. If you take away anything from this post, try Pink Palmers, either the music or the drink, and let me know what you think!

