Tags

, , , , , , ,

ImageSt. Vincent got crazy hair this year.

St. Vincent put out her best album this year.

Now I don’t want to be the guy who gets his causation and correlation all mixed up, but hey maybe there’s a connection?

Alright, probably not, but the self titled St. Vincent is a really good album. Every song is a winner. There are more hooks than any of her previous records and it’s easily her most rocking and accessible.

I’m here to talk about the opening song Rattlesnake. It’s the best opening song on any of her records, its got a funky synth line throughout and is more uptempo than Chloe in the Afternoon off of Strange Mercy or The Strangers off of Actor.

I played the song for my dad and he said “This is weird music.”

So that’s a pretty good ringing endorsement in my book.

